jump to navigation

The last week January 8, 2007

Posted by April Ayres-Griffiths in job.
trackback

This Friday marks the end of my contract job. It sure has been an adventure, and the source of many sleepless nights. Back in mid-August, I took over the job of another contractor leaving a project.

My brief was to bring across the customers accounts, services and other data into the target system. Well, my original brief was to mostly be testing… until I found out that the job was not even 50% complete. I remember that first week, meeting Melody in the CBD for lunch, telling her I felt deceived and wasn’t sure I could do this.

Now its T-48 hours until the migration begins for real… I’m working on tidying the last data-issues and some minor bug stomping, and I can’t help feeling good about myself. In the past 5 months, I have pretty much stripped down and rewritten the migration engine from scratch… Sometimes I had to throw days of work out when an assumption changed, or a business requirement appeared or disappeared.

But regardless of what transpires over the next few days… I know that I did my best… and in that I can be satisfied and happy. In three short weeks, my love Melody and I will be on a plane home to her family. This job made that all possible, and for that I will always be grateful.

April

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

