jump to navigation

Moose antlers and a pink blouse… January 12, 2007

Posted by April Ayres-Griffiths in job, melody.
trackback

Thats what I found lurking in the dark recesses of my desk when I cleaned out my stuff…

Today marked the culmination of 5 months working as a data migration contractor. 5 months of long days away from Melody, 5 months of sleepless nights and lost weekends.

But I proved to myself I could do it – and I could not have done with without Melody. She has had to suffer this just as much me, even more so. But we got through it.

This was an important thing for me… not just because this job provided rent and food and that elusive plane ticket to Canada, but because of what happened before. Seven months ago I had suffered a breakdown due to excessive stress. Melody helped me to pick up the pieces, and she believed in me even when I had lost the ability to believe in myself.

I was so nervous when I started this job, scared of screwing up. Data migrations on a large scale can be a daunting task at the best of times, but I was absolutely terrified. At that time I was still having nightmares about my previous job, which usually involved my old boss “angry Craig”, as he was known, yelling. I was so hard on myself when I quit, that I should have stuck it out – that I was somehow a coward.

But as I went around the office today and bid my farewell to my colleagues, I felt something I hadn’t felt for a while. I felt good about myself. Suddenly it was like it didn’t matter anymore about my previous job. I felt good about myself. But I think this will be my last data migration – I don’t want to be the star of the show… I just want a job that pays our rent and lets me spend as much time as I can with Melody.

Tomorrow morning its up at six am to go camping in the Grampians. I can’t wait to just spend time away from everything – the city is good in short bursts, but I am a country girl at heart.

Anyway… I guess that’s all for now.

-April

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

