jump to navigation

Life, Love and Disk Cloning… June 10, 2007

Posted by April Ayres-Griffiths in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Melody is sick at the moment with a bad stomach flu (think of the toilet as your best friend in the whole wide world), which she got from her parents. I’ve got the early stages of it too. To be honest my symptoms are about a day behind Melody’s which means I’ve got a whole world of fun to look forward to tomorrow. Hopefully I won’t get it as bad, as I want to be able to take care of her properly.

I’ve just spent some time trying to clone a hard drive from an old disk that is suffering heat death to another identical disk in FreeBSD. Using ‘dd’ for this seemed to be the ultimate solution as it will create a block for block copy of the disk.

dd if=/dev/da0 of=/dev/da1

So I checked on it an hour later and found that the transfer rate (which is only reported once the program terminates) was saying it was copying at 127kb per second.

*bangs head on desk*

Then I realized the block size was too small. So I added bs=64k to the command and let it run for about 30 seconds. Suddenly the transfer rate jumped to 13mb per second. At this rate it should be finished by the time I post this.

And that’s a good thing because I feel like I’m going to pass out soon…

-April

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

