jump to navigation

It’s time… April 21, 2007

Posted by April Ayres-Griffiths in immigration, job, love.
trackback

It’s about time that I completed my IT degree.

In the Australian IT job market people now tend to give less weight to someone having that piece of paper because these days it’s entirely possible for someone to cruise their way through university with private tutoring. All my previous jobs have looked at my experience, tested my abilities and on that based their hiring decisions. I’ve met a few people with degrees in my 7 years working who literally couldn’t even wipe their arse unless it involved writing a Java application to do it for them. I’m not picking on IT graduates here, just that theory is one thing and experience is another.

The company I am seeking employment with here in BC is no different, but in order for me to work for them, immigration has to approve me for a work visa. It is supremely unlikely at this stage that I will be able to get what is called a “Fast Track” work permit. They require the completed degree for this. The fast track would have had me starting in early May However it seems the company is willing to hold the position for me… Even if it takes three months (current estimate) to get a work permit. During that time I will be taking steps so that I complete the remaining two subjects of my degree.. Melody and I have already worked that out at least.

Yesterday was a hard day for both of us before the company called, because if this company hadn’t been able to get us a work permit, we realised no one would be able to. If that happened we would most likely spend our relocation money on flying back to Australia. I would find a job in Bendigo, and complete my course by night classes there. Because once I had that degree, I could apply and get approved for a general work permit allowing me to earn income in Canada. Then we could finally start building a life together.

One way or another Melody and I will build that life.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

